Tuesday, November 20, 2007

Dynamo take the MLS Cup, shock Revolution in the process

For the second year in a row, Houston Dynamo fell behind to the New England Revolution in the MLS Cup Final. And for the second year in a row, Dynamo came back to deny the Revolution victory, winning MLS Cup 2007 2-1 at RFK Stadium. The Dynamo are the first back-to-back MLS champions since D.C. United in the first years of league history.

For the Revolution, it was yet another heartbreak. They've played in four MLS Cup Finals -- bested only by D.C. United and the Los Angeles Galaxy -- and have yet to lay claim to the MLS Cup trophy. Dynamo won the MLS Cup last year in their first season in south Texas, defeating the Revolution on penalty kicks after the teams played to a 1-1 draw over 120 minutes. This puts them in dubious company with the Minnesota Vikings and Buffalo Bills of the NFL, as four-time losers of the final game.

No comments:

Post a Comment